giro 2017giro d'italia 2017Pro Cycling

GIRO 2017: Dillier Wins Stage 6

Tweet to @Pedal_Mash
BMC’s Silvan Dillier was the victor on a windy day in the South of Italy with a final 20km which was suited to a classics rider.

Dillian out-sprinted Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) and Lukas Pöstlberger (Bora) to take a victory from the day’s breakaway as the peloton were unable to bring them back.

The breakaway was formed after several attacks from the start of a windy stage. The difficult last few km made it unlikely to be a day for the sprinters, improving the chance of any breakaway staying away to the finish. 

The tantalising prospect of the maglia rosa was also on offer if the breakaway stayed away which led to several attacks which were nulified. Eventually 5 riders went clear and they included the first pink jersey wearer Lukas Pöstlberger (Bora), Jasper Stuyven and Mads Pederson (Trek-Segafredo), Simone Andreetta (Bardiana-CSF) and Silvan Dillier (BMC).

There was no threat to Jungels’ GC lead though – Dillier was the closest to him at more than 16′ in arrears – so the cinquet were allowed to go and quickly established a lengthy advantage which saw their lead grow to more than 5′ as they reached the first climb of the day – the category 3 Barritteri. 

This gap went out to more than 8′ as they progressed through the stage until Cannondale-Drapac took the initiative at the front of the peloton and began to bring the group back.

With the addition of Wilier-Triestina joining Cannondale in the pursuit of the break, the gap to them began to come down and with 100km left in the stage the advantage was now a much more manageable 5’41”.

Despite the tail wind along the coast and the efforts of Cannondale and Wilier, the gap was still holding strong and with 40km to go it was still hovering around the 5′ mark as the break approached the rolling parcours at the endgame.

Dimension Data soon got involved but the efforts of the three teams were not enough to dent the gap significantly and with 26km left to go the gap was still at 4′ and it looked likely that the break would be successful. 

As the break hit the final categorised climb of the day – the category 4 Fuscaldo – Pederson was briefly distanced but was able to get back on as he tried to make it to the finish to help teammate Stuyvens take the stage win.

The GC teams were massing at the front of the peloton and Quick-Step were keen to control the race and protect their leader and maglia rosa Jungels. With 15km to go the break was still 3′ ahead of the peloton and it was certain that they would be contesting the stage win amongst themselves.

With just 5km remaining Pederson pulled off after taking another mammoth turn. Pederson had been a key rider in making sure the breakaway stayed away for so long as he worked for Stuyven.

Stuyven took this as his que to attack and moved clear of the breakaway but was followed immediately by Dillier and soon after by Pöstlberger, leaving Andreetta behind unable to follow.

As the trio hit the 2km climb to the finish they began playing games with each other, all three trying to get a good position for the uphill sprint whilst working together to keep the peloton from making an unlikely catch.

With 200m to go Dillier was the first to attack and despite a massive effort from Stuyven to get past him he wasn’t strong enough to get around the Swiss rider.

2017 Giro d’Italia Stage 6: Reggio Calabria>Terme Luigiane 217km

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Silvan Dillier (BMC – Swi)  4:58:01″
2 Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo – Bel)
3 Lukas Pöstlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe – Aut) +12″
4 Simone Andreetta (Bardiana-CSF – Ita) +26″
5 Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac-  Can) +39″
6 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott – GBr)
7 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb – Ned)
8 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step – Lux)
9 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo – Ned)
10 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky – GBr)

General Classification

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step – Lux) 28:20:47″
2 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky – GBr) +6″
3 Adam Yates (Orica-Scott – GBr) +10″
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida – Ita)
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R – Ita)
6 Nairo Quintana (Movistar – Col)
7 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb – Ned)
8 Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo – Ned)
9 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC – USA)
10 Andrey Amador (Movistar – CRc)

Leave a reply