Pro Cycling

Gaviria wins Tour of Britain Stage 4

The fourth stage in the Tour of Britain was won by Fernando Gaviria of Etixx-QuickStep in a sprint finish in Blyth, making it two wins each so far for Team Sky and Etixx.

Stage 2 winner Petr Vakoc had to withdraw from the race after crashing at the end of Stage 3, but from then on it wall all about Etixx-QuickStep as they trie to control the race from the very beginning.

Matteo Trentin’s numerous attempts to get into a breakaway were eventually successful when he joined a six man group that also included Alan Marangoni (Cannondale-Garmin), Swiss champion Danilo Wyss (BMC Racing), Michael Svendgaard (Cult Energy), Rob Partridge (NFTO) and Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (MTN-Qhubeka).

With a man in the breakaway Etixx didn’t commit any men to the front of the race, leaving that up to race leader Lobato’s Movistar team to keep the break under control.

After the break’s lead got out to more than 4′ with just the category 3 climb at Alnwick remaining before a flat run in to the finish, Team Sky and Lotto-Soudal decided to commit some riders to the chase to bring them back.

With the break’s lead finally starting to come down Trentin was keen to press on and eventually went off the front of the break with Wyss and Marangoni, staying away until the final 17km when they were eventually caught by the peloton that was being strung out by the sprint teams.

Team Sky and Team Wiggins set the pace coming into the final 2km for Viviani and Doull before Lotto-Soudal’s train took over with 1500m to go for Andre Greipel.

It looked to be Greipel’s day as he made his move with 200m to go but then Gaviria came out of nowhere to blow past Greipel and take the stage win.

Juan Jose Lobato finished safely in the bunch and keeps his leaders jersey for another day.

Tour of Britain Stage 2015: Edinburgh-Blyth (217.4km)

1. Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-QuickStep – Col) 5:13:08″
2. Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal – Ger) 
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (MTN-Qhubeka – Now)
4. Owain Doull (Team Wiggins – GBr)
5. Jens Debusschere (Lotto-Soudal – Bel) 
6. Jonas Van Genechten (IAM Cycling – Bel)
7. Elia Viviani (Team Sky – Ita) 
8. Gerald Ciolek (MTN-Qhubeka – Ger)
9. Floris Gerts (BMC Racing – Ned)
10, Graham Briggs (JLT Condor – GBr)

General Classification

1. Juan Jose Lobato (Movistar – Spa) 18:50:12″
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (MTN-Qhubeka – Nor) +6″
3. Floris Gerts (BMC – Ned) +12″
4. Wouter Poels (Team Sky – Ned) +13″
5. Dylan van Baarle (Cannondale-Garmin – Ned) 
6. Owain Doull (Team Wiggins – GBr) +14″
7. Graham Briggs (JLT Condor – GBr) 
8. Rasmus Guldhammer (Cult Energy Pro Cycling – Den)
9. Matteo Trentin (Etixx-QuickStep – Ita) 
10. Serge Pauwels (MTN-Qhubeka – Bel) +20″

Leave a reply