la vuelta a espanaPro Cyclingvuelta

La Vuelta a Espana – Classifications

As we approach the halfway point of the race, here is how the various classifications are shaping up before today’s Individual Time Trial from Real Monasterio de Santa Maria de Veruela to Borja.

General Classification

1. Nairo Quintana (Col – Movistar) 35:58:05
2. Alberto Contador (Spa – Tinkoff-Saxo) +”3
3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa – Movistar) +8″
4. Winner Anacona (Col – Lampre) +9″
5. Chris Froome (GBr – Sky) +28″
6. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa – Katusha) +30″
7. Fabio Aru (Ita – Astana) +1’06”
8. Robert Gesink (Ned – Belkin) +1’19”
9. Rigoberto Uran (Col – Omega Pharma) +1’26”
10. Warren Barguil (Fra – Giant-Shimano) +1’26”

The General Classification is looking more like we expected it to after a couple of mountain stages, but with two time trials and six more mountain stages to come, expect the maillot Rouge to change hands between the big names a few more times.
Although they have two riders competing for the race win, it will be hard for Movistar to defend for the rest of the race with so many big names who will attack on the mountain stages.

King of the Mountains

1. Luis Mas Bonet (Spa – Caja Rural) 20pts
2. Winner Anacona (Col – Lampre) 18pts
3. Jerome Cousin (Fra – Europcar) 13pts
4. Alejandro Valverde (Spa – Movistar) 10pts
5. Johann Tschopp (Swi – IAM) 8pts
6. Javier Moreno (Spa – Movistar) 7pts
7. Amets Txurruka (Spa – Caja Rural) 7pts
8. Chris Froome (GBr – Sky) 6pts
9. Danilo Wyss (Swi – BMC) 6pts
10. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz – Astana) 6pts

With plenty of points on offer on eight out of the next 11 stages, Mas Bonet would do exceptionally well to still be in the mix for the blue polka-dots in Santiago. This jersey could change on each stage until then with only seven points separating the top three, and with Valverde and Froome contesting the GC either one could find themselves in the KOM jersey too.

The real mountain goats will show between stages 18-20 which are two mountain stages and one hilly stage, that will be where the winner of this classification will be decided.

Points Classification

1. John Degenkolb (Ger – Giant-Shimano) 87pts
2. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra – FDJ) 74pts
3. Michael Matthews (Aus – Orica Greenedge) 71pts
4. Dan Martin (Ire – Garmin-Sharp) 42pts
5. Chris Froome (GBr – Sky) 38pts
6. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa – Katusha) 35pts
7. Jasper Stuyven (Bel – Trek) 34pts
8. Alejandro Valverde (Spa – Movistar) 32pts
9. Lloyd Mondory (Fra – AG2R) 31pts
10. Roberto Ferrari (Ita – Lampre) 30pts

With only two flat stages remaining (12 & 17) it is very likely that Matthews, Bouhanni or Degenkolb will take the Green jersey home with them in Santiago. Unless Dan Martin wins the intermediates and at least one stage he will not be able to get Green; and Chris Froome is very unlikely to change his GC ambitions to take on the sprinters.

Degenkolb and Bouhanni are on two stage wins apiece, and if Matthews wins one of the last two sprint stages it could go down to the last flat stage – from Ortiguera to A Coruna on stage 17. By then the winner of this classification could be clear, but with competition in all classifications heating up it’s hard to pick a winner between the top three.

Team Classification

1. Movistar (Spain) 107:27:19
2. Katusha (Russia) +3’11”
3. Belkin Pro Cycling Team (Netherlands) +5’37”
4. Cofidis (France) +7’36”
5. BMC Racing Team (USA) +7’45”
6. Omega Pharma Quick-Step (Belgium) +7’48”
7. Astana Pro Team (Kazakhstan) +10’23”
8. Lampre-Merida (Italy) +10’50”
9. Garmin Sharp (USA) +11’43”
10. Tinkoff-Saxo (Russia) +14’38”

With Movistar having two riders in the GC they are the favourites for this classification, although the risk is there that some riders will get burnt out working to keep two men safe. With seven of the teams in the top ten having GC riders, they should establish a clear gap between the rest of the teams as the race goes on.

A couple of breakaway successes though could see the classification shuffle around a little, especially if two or more riders from the same team make it into the breakaway that makes it to the line.This classification is way too early to call a winner on just yet.

Allround Classification 

1. Alejandro Valverde (Spa – Movistar)
2. Chris Froome (GBr – Sky)
3. Winner Anacona (Col – Lampre)
4. Alberto Contador (Spa – Tinkoff-Saxo)
5. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa – Katusha)
6. Nairo Quintana (Col – Movistar)
7. Ryder Hesjedal (Can – Garmin Sharp)
8. Sergio Pardilla (Spa – MTN-Qhubeka)
9. Hubert Dupont (Fra – AG2R)
10. Danilo Wyss (Swi – BMC)

This classification is for the best placed riders across all three main classifications, and it’s no surprise to see six of the GC riders in the top ten. The GC names pick up sprint and mountain points, as well as time, simply by being on contention for the race lead. We see Froome and Valverde mentioned in the top ten of all three classifications, which puts them in pole position to take this jersey.

It’s a jersey which cannot really be ridden for, and often comes as a by-product of a good race by the eventual winner, be it Valverde, Froome or any other rider who has excelled in the bunch sprints and the mountains.


Leave a reply