giro d'itaila 2016Giro d'ItaliaPro Cycling

Roglic wins giro stage 9

Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) took the stage win in Chianti in the individual time trial, with the rainy weather hampering the chances of the group of favourites.

Despite not having any categorised climbs, the course for the time trial was pretty undulating and made for some interesting times as the puncheurs tried to compete with the GC riders.

Roglic was the 42nd rider off the start and took advantage of the dry roads to set the fastest time of 45’29”, overturning Andrey Amador’s (Movistar) time of 53’04” by finishing strongly in the second part of the course.

It was another forgettable day for Dumoulin with his race starting and ending in miserable conditions, with the former race leader eventually finishing 15th on the stage – 1’58” behind Roglic, although this was enough to move him back up into 7th in the GC.

The other GC contenders suffered a similar fate due to the bad weather conditions, with Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) finishing at +2’13”, Mikel Landa (Team Sky) finishing +2’20” and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) finishing at +2’24”.

Former hour record holder Matthias Brandle (IAM) was the closest to beating Roglic’s time coming in with a deficit of 10″, whilst race leader Gianluca Brambilla was able to maintain his lead in the race by riding a cautious time trial which saw him come in 2’05” behind Roglic, but maintain his lead over teammate Bob Jungels by 1″ on the GC.

Giro d’Italia 2016 Stage 9: Chianti>Chianti (ITT) 40km

1 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:51:45  
2 Matthias Brandle (Aut) IAM Cycling +10″  
3 Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) IAM Cycling +17″  
4 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek-Segafredo +28″  
5 Anton Vorobyev (Rus) Team Katusha +30″  
6 Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx – Quick-Step +45″  
7 Stefan Kueng (Swi) BMC Racing Team  +58″  
8 Jos Van Emden (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo +1’08”  
9 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo +1’16”  
10 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team +1’19”

General Classification

1 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Etixx – Quick-Step 34:33:04  
2 Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx – Quick-Step +1″  
3 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team +32″  
4 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo +51″  
5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team +53″  
6 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team +55″  
7 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin +58″  
8 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Team Sky +1’18”  
9 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff Team +1’45”  
10 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team  +1’51”

Leave a reply