Pro Cycling

Viviani wins Tour of Britain Stage 8

It appeared that Andre Greipel had won the final stage of the Tour of Britain, but after the commissaires reviewed the final sprint he was relegated and the victory awarded to Viviani.

In a similar finish to Stage 7 it was a sprint between Greipel and Viviani for the line and it looked as though Greipel had beaten the Italian again. On review however, it was deemed that irregular handling by Greipel had forced Viviani into the barriers, impeding his sprint, so they relegated him and gave Viviani the victory.

The criterium around central London provided plenty of action as riders competed for the sprint points and tried to keep up with the fast pace set by the peloton.

Team Wiggins’ Owain Doull managed to pick up three bonus seconds at the intermediate sprints and finish in the bunch, meaning he moved into third in the final classification to take his first podium finish.

Doull also took the points classification in a successful first outing for Team Wiggins. The Welshman had consistently finished in the top ten across every stage which contributed to his accumulation of points.

Boasson Hagen was able to stay in the pack safely and finished the race to win his second Tour of Britain after he won the 2009 edition. He will be lining up for the Norway team at the World Championships later this month in Richmond.

Greipel’s relegation from the sprint saw him placed at the back of the pack he finished in, meaning he came in 39th place on the stage.

Tour of Britain 2015 Stage 8: London Stage by TfL (86.8km)

1. Elia Viviani (Team Sky – Ita) 1:50:16″
2. Juan Jose Lobato (Movistar – Spa)
3. Matteo Trentin (Etixx-QuickStep – Ita)
4. Edvald Boasson Hagen (MTN-Qhubeka – Nor)
5. Jens Debusschere (Lotto-Soudal – Bel)
6. Sondre Enger (IAM Cycling – Nor)
7. Mark Renshaw (Etixx-QuickStep – Aus)
8. Graham Briggs (JLT Condor – GBr)
9. Ruben Zepuntke (Cannondale-Garmin – Ger)
10. Owain Doull (Team Wiggins – GBr)

General Classification

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (MTN-Qhubeka – Nor) 34:52:52″
2. Wouter Poels (Team Sky – Ned) +13″
3. Owain Doull (Team Wiggins – GBr) +42″
4. Rasmus Guldhammer (Cult Energy Pro Cycling – Den) +43″
5. Zdenek Stybar (Etixx-QuickStep – Cze) +51″
6. Ruben Fernandez (Movistar – Spa) 
7. Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo – Ned) 
8. Dylan van Baarle (Cannondale-Garmin – Ned) +53″
9. Chris Anker Sorenson (Tinkoff-Saxo – Den) +59″
10. Xandro Meurisse (An Post – Chain Reaction – Bel) +1’02”

Leave a reply