le tourtdfTour de Francetour de france 2017

Tour 2017: Kittel Wins Stage 10

Marcel Kittel won his 4th stage of this Tour de France convincingly, beating his rivals on the line to extend his lead on the green points classification jersey.

Kittel beat rivals including Greipel, Degenkolb and Groenewegen with plenty of space after a chaotic run into the final in Bergerac. Despite the efforts from Lotto-Soudal to control the race into the finish their exertions proved too much and they faded too early, with Greipel not even featuring in the top 10 at the finish.

Stage 10 was one for the sprinters with a flat profile – only two category 4 climbs – to content with and was treated as almost a second rest day for most of the peloton, with the average speed of the race being quite slow for most of the day.

The stage began with an attack from Yoann Offredi (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) at km0 and for a few moments it looked like he would be in for a similar experience to his teammate Van Keirsbulck on Stage 4 who had a long solo breakaway. A reaction from the peloton spared him that fate though and in the end only Elie Gesbert (Fortuneo-Oscaro) was willing to join Offredo at the front of the race.

After 10km of racing the pair’s lead had gone out to 4’20” as the peloton were happy to let them go for the day. Their advantage kept increasing until QuickStep put a rider on the front along with Team Sky when their advantage went up to more than 5′. Lotto-Soudal also contributed a rider to help maintain the gap and the duo’s lead stopped extending, stabilising around the 5′ mark.

Tour de France 2017 Stage 10 Profile

As the break went over the Cote de Domme (Cat4) with Gesbert taking the solitary point on offer, the lead was down to just inside 3′ with 60km left to race. The approach of the intermediate sprint at Saint Cyprien caused an increase in pace which saw the lead cut to 2’40” with still 5km to go before the sprint.

Offredo took full points at the sprint with Greipel beating Kittel and Kristoff in the sprint for the best of the rest in the peloton. With 40km to go the gap was slightly down at 2’10” but with an average speed of just 42km/h in the bunch there was no obvious hurry to catch them.

Gesbert again took full points on the Cote du Buisson-de-Cadouin (Cat4) as the peloton began to wake up a little and riders started joining Katusha, Lotto-Soudal and QuickStep at the front of the bunch. With 25km to go Offredo and Gesbert had just 1′ on the rapidly advancing peloton, with that gap being cut as close as 30″ at one point before they let it out again to avoid making the catch too early.

With 15km to go the gap was back down to 30″ as Lotto-Soudal and Katusha began to force the pace once again. A few km later the leadout teams began to mass at the front of the peloton with the Lotto-Soudal team the most prominent for Andre Greipel.

The catch was made at 6km as Lotto-Soudal continued to force the pace with Katusha and BMC taking their place at the front of the peloton. Lotto-Soudal were dominating the front of the peloton until Dimension Data took over with Katusha alongside them. Into the last km it was looking to be a chaotic finish but Kittel was able to accelerate away from his rivals to win with daylight between himself, Degenkolb and Groenewegen.

Tour de France 2017 Stage 10: Perigeuex>Bergerac 178km

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Marcel Kittel (QuickStep – Ger) 4:01:00″
2 John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo – Ger) s.t.
3 Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo – Ned) s.t.
4 Rudiger Selig (Bora-Hansgrohe – Ger) s.t.
5 Alexander Kristoff (Katusha – Nor) s.t.
6 Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis – Fra) s.t.
7 Daniel Mclay (Fortuneo-Oscaro – GBr) +1’15”
8 Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Wanty-Groupe Gobert – Bel) s.t.
9 Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida – Ita) s.t.
10 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data – Nor) s.t.

General Classification

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Chris Froome (Team Sky – GBr) 32:27:29″
2 Fabio Aru (Astana – Ita) +18″
3 Romain Bardet (AG2R – Fra) +51″
4 Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac – Col) +55″
5 Jakob Fulgsang (Astana – Den) +1’37″
6 Dan Martin (QuickStep – Ire) +1’44″
7 Simon Yates (Orica-Scott – GBr) +2’02″
8 Nairo Quintana (Movistar – Col) +2’13”
9 Mikel Landa (Team Sky – Spa) +3’06”
10 George Bennett (LottoNL-Jumbo – NZl) +3’53″

Leave a reply