tdfTour de France

Tour de France 2015: Final Results

Chris Froome won the overall General Classification after a thrilling 3 weeks of racing despite attempts from Movistar and Nairo Quintana to take his yellow jersey.

Here’s a rundown of the final classifications:

General Classification

1. Chris Froome (Team Sky – GBr) 84:46:14″
2. Nairo Quintana (Movistar – Col) +1’12”
3. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar – Spa) +5’25”
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana – Ita) +8’36”
5. Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo – Spa) 9’48”
6. Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo – Ned) +10’47”
7. Bauke Mollema (Trek Factory Racing – Ned) +15’14”
8. Matthias Frank (IAM Cycling – Swi) +15’39”
9. Romain Bardet (AG2R – Fra) +16’00”
10. Pierre Rolland (Europcar – Fra) +17’30”

Chris Froome resisted all attacks on his lead in the race, the majority of which came from the Movistar duo of Alejandro Valverde and Nairo Quintana.

Froome dominated the race as soon as he won the maillot jaune and the only time he looked like he could lose it was the final mountain stage on Alp d’Huez; when Quintana and Valverde attacked him and he wasn’t able to follow.

His team mates worked hard to keep him at the front of teh race though and although Quintana manged to take almost 1’30” off of his lead, Froome had enough time in the bank to safeguard his lead in the GC.

Points Classification

1. Peter Sagan (Tinkoff-Saxo – Slo) 432pts
2. Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal – Ger) 366
3. John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin – Ger) 298
4. Mark Cavendish (Etixx-QuickStep – GBr) 206
5. Bryan Coquard (Europcar – Fra) 152
6. Chris Froome (Team Sky – GBr) 139
7. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ – Fra) 113
8. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar – Spa) 103
9. Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal – Bel) 90
10. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha – Nor) 90
Despite the rule change to give more points to stage winners, Sagan’s consistency was enough to cliam the green jersey for the third year in a row. 
Although he didn’t win a stage, his high placing on all the flat and slightly hilly stages saw him collect plenty of points on the line. As well as a few days in the breakaway that saw him collect maximum points at the intermediate sprint. 
The competition never looked like it would go to anyone else, despite Greipel winning four stages of the Tour and wearing green for a few days of the race.

King of the Mountains Classification

1. Chris Froome (Team Sky – GBr) 119pts
2. Nairo Quintana (Movistar – Col) 108
3. Romain Bardet (AG2R – Fra) 90
4. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ – Fra) 82
5. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha – Spa) 78
6. Pierre Rolland (Europcar – Fra) 74
7. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar – Spa) 72
8. Jacob Fuglsang (Astana – Den) 64
9. Richie Porte (Team Sky – Aus) 58
10. Serge Pauwels (MTN-Qhubeka – Bel) 55
Chris Froome became the first rider since Eddy Merckx to win both the General Classification and the King of the Mountains competition. 
With his stage win and high placings in the Pyrenees and the Alps, Froome was able to collect plenty of mountain points to collect the polka-dot jersey. 
Last time Froome won the Tour Quintana won the KOM jersey; but this time it was Froome who led the competition in Paris. Although he won’t have targeted the classification due to his overall ambitions, the KOM classification is a great bonus win for Froome.

Best Young Rider Classification

1. Nairo Quintana (Movistar – Col) 84:47:26″
2. Romain Bardet (AG2R – Fra) +14’48”
3. Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin – Fra) +30’03”
4. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ – Fra) +37’40”
5. Bob Jungels (Trek Factory Racing – Lux) +1:32:09″
6. Peter Sagan (Tinkoff-Saxo – Slo) +2:13:43″
7. Adam Yates (Orica-GreenEdge – GBr) +2:15:24″
8. Wilco Kelderman (LottoNL-Jumbo – Ned) +3:02:55″
9. Emanuel Bachmann (Bora-Argon 18 – Ger) +3:07:35″
10. Merhawi Kudus (MTN-Qhubeka – Ert) +3:09:24″ 
Nairo Quintana wins this competition in every stage race he enters, but the good news for the rest of the riders is that he turns 26 in February so is no longer eligible for the competition. 
He was far and away the best young rider in the race, but the future of professional cycling looks bright for the French especially with three strong riders in the top 5. 
The competition for the white jersey next year will be just as thrilling as the GC race as the same names try to take some glory of their own in the race. 

Team Classification

1. Movistar (Spain) 255:24:24″
2. Team Sky (Great Britain) +57’23”
3. Tinkoff-Saxo (Russia) +1:00:12″
4. Astana Pro Team (Kazakhstan) +1:12:09″
5. MTM-Qhubeka (South Africa) +1:14:32″
6. AG2R La Mondiale (France) +1:24:22″
7. Team Europcar (France) +1:48:51″
8. BMC Racing (USA) +2:41:46″
9. IAM Cycling (Switzerland) +2:42:16″
10. LottoNL-Jumbo (Netherlands) +2:46:59″

Leave a reply