vueltaVuelta a Espana

Vuelta 2017: BMC Win Opening TTT

Rohan Dennis was the first to cross the line for BMC as they won the opening prologue Team Time Trial in Nimes, and he will line up in the race leader’s red jersey for Stage 2.

The stage was short enough to be open to all teams, with a short, intense effort required on the flat course to be in with a chance of taking the stage honours and the first leaders jersey. Bora-Hansgrohe were the first team to set a marked time which stood for a while, getting around the course in 16’19” but this was soon usurped by a Team Sunweb time of 16’04” which put Bora and second placed Lotto-Soudal squarely out of the picture.

As the rider on the fastest team who was first over the summit of the lone category 3 climb on the stage, Nicholas Roche will be wearing the blue and white polka dot jersey of mountains classification leader.

With current World Champions Quick-Step and two-time World Champions BMC still to come though it looked like this time might not be enough to secure the win, although the short nature of the course meant anything could have happened.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 Stage 1 - TTT

Quick-Step beat Sunweb but only by half a second, proving how strong Sunweb’s ride was. It looked like Quick-Step might be taking stage honours until the BMC team hit the course, finishing in a time of 15’58” and beating Quick-Step comfortably into second place.

The impact on the general classification gave the early advantage to Chris Froome who’s Sky team finished 9″ down on BMC, but with BMC, Quick-Step and Sunweb not having any GC contenders in the teams he is in the strongest position. Froome now leads Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) by 22″, Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) by 26″ and Fabio Aru (Astana) by 32″ going into Stage 2.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 Stage 1: Nimes>Nimes 13.5km

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 BMC 15’58”
2 Quick-Step Floors +6″
3 Team Sunweb s.t.
4 Team Sky +9″
5 Orica-Scott +17″
6 Bora-Hansgrohe +21″
7 Lotto-Soudal +24″
8 Movistar s.t.
9 Bahrain-Merida +31″
10  Katusha-Alpecin +33″

Vuelta a Espana 2017 General Classification

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Rohan Dennis (BMC – Aus) 15’58”
2 Daniel Oss (BMC – Ita) s.t.
3 Nicholas Roche (BMC – Ire) s.t.
4 Alessandro De Marchi (BMC – Ita) s.t.
5 Damiano Caruso (BMC – Ita) s.t.
6 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC – USA) s.t.
7 Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step – Bel) +6″
8 David de la Cruz (Quick-Step – Spa) s.t.
9 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step – Lux) s.t.
10 Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step – Fra) s.t.

Leave a reply