vueltaVuelta a Espana

Vuelta 2017: Lampaert Wins Stage 2

Yves Lampaert won the second stage of La Vuelta for Quick-Step with a surprise attack on the sprinters’ teams to take the stage along with the leader’s jersey in Gruissan.

The stage should have been a day for the sprinters but the late attack from three Quick-Step riders (Lampaert, Trentin and Alaphilippe) with 2km to go got the drop on the sprint trains who were unable to bring the trio back, allowing Lampaert to take the victory with Trentin in second place.

The stage was unusual in that no breakaway was established with the peloton staying together for almost the entire 203km with the Quick-Step attack the only move that went clear. A fast pace was set right from the start by Trek-Segafredo, riding for Alberto Contador. The threat of crosswinds on the long, flat stage caused an anxious peloton with GC massed at the front and keeping the pace high to avoid any GC contenders being caught on the wrong side of any splits.

La Vuelta 2017 Stage 2 Profile

This frantic pace paid dividends at around the 75km mark when crosswinds hit the peloton, but all the riders were able to stay together and ensure no splits occurred. As they approached the intermediate sprint at 30km to go Katusha-Alpecin sent riders on an attack to try and take points and get away but they were quickly brought back, with Trentin taking the full 4 points at the intermediate. Coupled with his 20 points for the second place on the stage this means Trentin will wear the points jersey on Stage 3, despite trailing Lampaert by 1 point whilst Lampaert will be wearing the red jersey of race leader.

As the sprint teams began to organise their trains with 10km to go they had to battle with the GC teams of Team Sky and Astana who were still leading the pace at the front of the peloton to protect their riders. As they eventually dropped back and the sprint trains began to appear at the head of the peloton, Quick-Step made their move and were able to stay away to take the stage.

Of the sprinters following Adam Blythe (Aqua Blue) took third place and Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo) took fourth.

The frantic finish caused fractures to appear in the peloton which Nibali took advantage of, finishing in the first group and gaining 8″ on Chris Froome, Fabio Aru and 13″ on Alberto Contador.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 Stage 2: Nimes>Gruissan 203km

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step – Bel) 4:36:13″
2 Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step – Ita) s.t.
3 Adam Blythe (Aqua Blue – GBr) s.t.
4 Edward Theuns (Trek-Segafredo – Bel) s.t.
5 Sacha Modolo (UAE – Ita) s.t.
6 Michael Schwarzmann (Bora-Hansgrohe – Ger) s.t.
7 Tom Van Asbroeck (Cannondale-Drapac – Bel) s.t.
8 Daniel Oss (BMC – Ita) s.t.
9 Patrick Konrad (Bora-Hansgrohe – Aut) s.t.
10 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida – Ita) s.t.

Vuelta a Espana 2017: General Classification

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step – Bel) 4:52:07″
2 Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step – Ita) +1″
3 Daniel Oss (BMC – Ita) +3″
4 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC – USA) +17″
5 Nicholas Roche (BMC – Ire) s.t.
6 Rohan Dennis (BMC – Aus) s.t.
7 Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step – Fra) +18″
8 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb – Ned) s.t.
9 Chris Froome (Team Sky – GBr) +21″
10 Wout Poels (Team Sky – Ned) s.t.

Leave a reply