vueltaVuelta a Espana

Vuelta 2017: Trentin Wins Stage 21. Froome Wins Vuelta a Espana

Matteo Trentin won the final stage of the Vuelta in a bunch sprint that saw him edge out rivals Soren Andersen (Sunweb) and Lorrenzo Manzin (FDJ) to take his fourth win of the race.

Despite winning four stages though Trentin was unable to win the points jersey as Chris Froome finished 11th on the stage, collecting enough points to seal his lead in the points classification ahead of Trentin.

The stage was a flat stage and had a processional air to the first part of the race with riders posing for photographs and chatting with an easy pace, keen to take advantage of a respite after three weeks of intense racing.

Contador was given the honour of leading the race into Madrid for the first time as he celebrated the final stage of his career, the former champion was received with cheers and applause and once he was back in the bunch the race for the stage began proper.

Trentin’s Quick-Step team featured prominently on the front of the race and didn’t allow any breaks to escape, aside from a brief foray up the road by Rui Costa (UAE), Alessandro De Marchi (BMC) and Nicholas Schultz (Caja-Rural) which was quickly pegged back. Quick-Step led the race around the laps of Madrid at a fierce pace and when the intermediate sprint came up they were able to freeze out Froome from getting any points on the line.

Team Sky were determined to defend Froome’s lead in the points classification though and despite the pace they were never far from the front even as the race entered it’s final km. The FDJ and Sunweb teams were well organised alongside the Quick-Step team coming into the final metres but it was Trentin who was able to outsprint them with ease, confirming his place as top sprinter on the Vuelta even though he didn’t win the points classifcation.

Froome’s 11th place saw him confirm his race victory, becoming the first Briton to win the Tour de France and the Vuelta a Espana in the same year and the first cyclist since Bernard Hinault to do the double.

Vuelta a Espana 2017 Stage 21: Arroyomolinos>Madrid (177.6km)

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step – Bel) 3:06:25″
2 Lorrenzo Manzin (FDJ – Fra) s.t.
3 Soren Andersen (Team Sunweb – Den) s.t.
4 Tom Van Asbroeck (Cannondale Drapac – Bel) s.t.
5 Ivan Garcia (Bahrain-Merida – Spa) s.t.
6 Magnus Cort (Orica-Scott – Den) s.t.
7 Kenneth Van Bilsen (Cofidis -Bel) s.t.
8 Sacha Modolo (UAE – Ita) s.t.
9 Michael Schwarzmann (Bora-Hansgrohe – Ger) s.t.
10 Daniel Hoelgaard (FDJ – Nor) s.t.

Vuelta a Espana 2017: General Classification

Position Name (Team – Nationality) Time
1 Chris Froome (Team Sky – GBr) 82:30:02″
2 Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida – Ita) +2’15″
3 Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin – Rus) +2’51″
4 Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo – Spa) +3’11”
5 Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb – Ned) +3’15”
6 Wout Poels (Team Sky – Ned) +6’45”
7 Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac – Can) +8’16″
8 Miguel Lopez (Astana – Col) +8’59″
9 Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo – Ned) +11’04″
10 Tejay Van Garderen (BMC – USA) +15’36”

Leave a reply